I’ve seen some people from European Pagan religions talk about how much more spiritual trans people naturally are

(while hissing cissexist bullshit when a trans woman wants to join a “woman only” pagan event)

I haven’t seen it too much, but when I do it makes me uncomfortable. One time I’ve seen this was describing trans people as some “sacred third gender”. Now, I am not talking about indigenous cultures’ beliefs, because that’s very different. Most of the pagan religions I’m talking about are reconstructions based on our understandings of pre-Christian worship. Something that, you know, Christians generally went to great lengths to destroy & distort all evidence of. A lot of the writings are outsider’s versions of events.

Most of the US, Canada & West Europe aren’t incredibly trans friendly. Some are better than others, definitely, but they aren’t all super great harbors of trans awareness. So within a culture that already demonizes, objectifies, fetishizes, and otherwise dehumanizes trans people- seeing people treat us as some super special mystical ultra-intune-with-the-divine people is pretty disconcerting. Putting people who aren’t even seen as people onto a pedestal is not a step in the right direction. It’s just a fluffier version of saying “you aren’t a person”.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “I’ve seen some people from European Pagan religions talk about how much more spiritual trans people naturally are

  1. myrkr

    This post brings to my mind the silly notion by many New Age people that all indigenous peoples of the Americas are more spiritually in tune than the rest of the world. I have, no joke, seen someone go up to a Native and ask them to do a smudging ceremony for them. Least to say, said Native was confused, then enraged when they were informed of why they were being asked for a smudging ceremony – after being told what one was in the first place.

    Aside from that, I feel it’s important to point out that all genders are sacred, but how spiritually aware or spiritual a person is cannot be determined by their ethnicity, their gender, their sexual orientation, their religion, their job, their looks, their hair color, their eye color, their skin color, what shoes they wear, et cetera.

  2. Um. Anything which seeks to categorise us as a group- All transfolk are X- rather than as individuals is unpleasant. I think I am fairly spiritually alive, but have met materialist, atheistic, unspiritual trans people.

    • Definitely. I’ve known a few atheist trans people as well and I doubt they’d appreciate being told that they’re super intune with things they don’t think exist.
      I’m sure that some cis people feel like they’re being progressive and complimenting us by lumping us into a “positive” group, but we’re still being lumped together and denied individuality and othered from cis (aka “normal”) people.

      • Machine Gun Bras

        As a possibly materialist atheist, someone telling me I’m all magical! and special! and extra-super-duper spiritual! would, ah, displease me greatly.

        (On a side note, it reminds me of an incarnation of the ‘inspirational’ ableist trope. As in, ‘crips are super-extra-in-tune with God/nature/spiritual sources/life/etc’. Pisses me off then, too)

  3. I’ve run into this bilateral weirdness in the Buddhist order I’m ordained in – most people are simply fine (if sometimes a little uncomfortable) with me transitioning. But there are those who try to dress it up as “un-Buddhist”, as a cover-up for their own prejudices; and then there those who try to dress it up as “inherently spiritual activity”; I think they’re both insane. To me, this “spiritualising” of what I’m doing is just another flavour of trans-fetishising.

    Giving the “spiritualisers” the benefit of the doubt, I think they’re often just trying to express support, but it still singles me out for doing something they should all be doing anyway, which is questioning and exploring the basis for their gender identity – of course, they don’t see any need to, because they’re the Default Setting™. Blah drone, rant rave… okay, done now :).

    I’m also dealing with the No Entry To Women-Only Spaces issue, and on the whole, I’ve found that asking first yields a very positive response, so far (especially from the queer women’s front) – though for many women, I’ll only get to properly cross the border post-surgery.

Leave a Reply

